Home : Gallery : History : Uses : Behaviour : Maths : Forum : Propulsion : Links : Glossary
Main Forum Page

The Gyroscope Forum

25 April 2024 20:15

Welcome to the gyroscope forum. If you have a question about gyroscopes in general, want to know how they work, or what they can be used for then you can leave your question here for others to answer. You may also be able to help others by answering some of the questions on the site.

Search the forum:  

Question

Asked by: R
Subject: orientation
Question: Hi, I need to ask a question about the orientation of gyroscopes and what is possible.
It's easier to explain my question by reference to a diagram, but I'll have a go to explain in words what I'm trying to achieve below. I'm not an engineer so please allow for this when reading my question. Here goes...

I have a phone ap which requires a gyroscope to work, but it needs the gyroscope to work in a 3D world.
That is, the phone can de held in all possible positions and angles by the user, front Of The Phone (OTP) facing the suser, back OTP facing the user, side OTP facing the user, bottom OTP facing the user, fiull 360 movement etc.
Regardsless of which position faces the user, the gyroscope will know which way is up because of gravity.
But how can it now which way is TRUE left as determined by the user's position?
Does that make sense?
If I hold the phone top-side up with the screen facing me (in the standards position), and I move the phone unit left the app reads this as a left movement, which is correct.
Imagine I flip the phone physically so the back of the phone faces me, surely the internal gyroscope gets confused. When the user moves the phone to his left the gyroscope thinks its moving right?