Home : Gallery : History : Uses : Behaviour : Maths : Forum : Propulsion : Links : Glossary
Main Forum Page

The Gyroscope Forum

27 April 2024 02:15

Welcome to the gyroscope forum. If you have a question about gyroscopes in general, want to know how they work, or what they can be used for then you can leave your question here for others to answer. You may also be able to help others by answering some of the questions on the site.

Search the forum:  

Question

Asked by: Justin Liu
Subject: Reduction in tilting force applied on spinning gyro?
Question: Hello, I'm new to the physics of gyroscopes (being only a High-School student) and I am planning to incorporate gyroscopes into my science project. I was wondering, if a solid object falls at a slant, like this slash "/", and a gyroscope is placed at the middle of this object, will precession reduce the falling rate of the object? If so, how much of a difference is made? I know that precession would also affect the horizontal motion of the object, but I'm mainly interested in what happens to its vertical motion. If you know a lot of this phenomena and have the time to help, please E-mail me personally :D I appreciate all help.
Date: 26 October 2004
report abuse

Answers (Ordered by Date)

Answer: Justin Liu - 26/10/2004 00:27:06