Home : Gallery : History : Uses : Behaviour : Maths : Forum : Propulsion : Links : Glossary
Main Forum Page

The Gyroscope Forum

11 May 2024 18:59

Welcome to the gyroscope forum. If you have a question about gyroscopes in general, want to know how they work, or what they can be used for then you can leave your question here for others to answer. You may also be able to help others by answering some of the questions on the site.

Search the forum:  

Question

Asked by: James Cothren
Subject: Gyroscopic Propulsion
Question: I am an engineering student in BatonRouge, La. I have for a long time now been interested in gyroscopes and gyroscopic priciples, like vibration, waves and ......I am taking my second physics and still have not really touched on gyroscopic priciples. Anyway, like so many others I have a good, I would not say solid theory, on a gyroscopic propulsion system that I would like to prove mathematiclly before moving any futher. I am looking for someone who has thought about this much more than I have to: A. answer some basic questions for me. B. hopefully supply me with some equations to help me solve some problems such as gyroscopes in falling body experiments and(for example) if a gyroscope weighing 2 lbs. is rotating 1 time a second does that equal the same inertial gravity as 2 gyroscopes half the size(1 lbs each) rotating twice the speed. Or maybe someone who has come before barking up the same tree as I have and hit a brick wall. That would probably save me alot of time . To sum up, i believe that with the advancement of nano technology and other technologies it may, just maybe possible to create a type of gyroscopic thrust feasible for real world applications. If anyone thinks they can help me, please send me an email to james_cothren@yahoo.com
Date: 8 September 2007
report abuse

Answers (Ordered by Date)

Answer: Glenn Hawkins - 28/09/2007 21:38:03
 LSU? Tulane? In BatonRouge? Where?