Home : Gallery : History : Uses : Behaviour : Maths : Forum : Propulsion : Links : Glossary
Main Forum Page

The Gyroscope Forum

20 April 2024 11:11

Welcome to the gyroscope forum. If you have a question about gyroscopes in general, want to know how they work, or what they can be used for then you can leave your question here for others to answer. You may also be able to help others by answering some of the questions on the site.

Search the forum:  

Question

Asked by: will thompson
Subject: Gyro-stabilised motorcycle
Question: Hi folks,
I am in my final year stuying transport design at university. For one of my final projects i hope to design a gyroscopically stabilised fully enclosed motorbike. Hopefully you can help me.
The plan in to have a secondary rim in the rear wheel that will spin independantly of the wheel enabling the bike to stay upright. This would be run by a separate motor to the one that drives the bike to the wheel can continuously spin at the desired rpm. There will be a weighting system that will slide to the the direction in which the bike is steering allowing it to lean into the corners.
So i have a few questions first of all do you think this is idea is sound in princple?
Also if it is could some one tell me how to work out how fast the rim would have to spin to hold up a certain weight motorcycle
And how to work out how much weight would be needed to force the bike over with the gyro still spinning.
Thanks for your time any help would be greatly appreciated
Date: 19 October 2007
report abuse

Answers (Ordered by Date)

Answer: Ron V. Parsons - 26/10/2007 01:51:55
 I don't believe it will work. As a matter of fact, I think I know it won't work.